Australian Embassy

About us

About the Australian Embassy in Ireland

Visitor Arrangements for Australian Embassy Dublin

Head of Mission

Ambassador Ruth Adler has been Australian Ambassador to Ireland since January 2013. Ambassador Adler is a senior career officer with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) and was most recently Assistant Secretary in the Office of Trade Negotiations (2012). Prior to that she was Assistant Secretary of the Environment Branch (2009-2011). Dr Adler has served overseas as Australia's High Commissioner to Brunei Darussalam (2006-2009); First Secretary then Counsellor, Australian Embassy, Mexico City; and Third then Second Secretary, Australian Embassy, Manila.

Ambassador Adler holds a Graduate Diploma in Foreign Affairs and Trade from the Australian National University, a Doctorate in Latin American Studies from La Trobe University and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Spanish and Latin American Studies from the University of New South Wales. She is also a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

She is married with two children.

Contact information

Address: 7th Floor, Fitzwilton House, Wilton Terrace, Dublin 2                             

Telephone: 01 664 5300 (from outside Ireland call +353 1 6645300)                                                                            

Fax: 01 662 3566 (Political and Trade) or 01 678 5185 (Consular and Administration)    

To see a map of the location of the Embassy:

Opening hours

Visitor access to the Embassy is by appointment only. All visitors must present to the reception desk and provide current photographic identification (e.g. passport, driving licence).

Visitors with an appointment should advise the reception desk in order to announce their arrival.

Visitors without an appointment should call 01 664 5300 to make an appointment. This includes passport and consular emergencies.

The Embassy is open from 8.30am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday (except for public holidays).

Public holidays

The Embassy will be closed on these dates in 2016:

1 January (Friday)

New Year’s Day

26 January (Tuesday)

Australia Day

17 March (Thursday)

St Patrick’s Day

25 March (Friday)

Good Friday

28 March (Monday)

Easter Monday

2 May (Monday)

Bank Holiday

6 June (Monday)

Bank Holiday

4 July (Monday)

Additional DFAT holiday

1 August (Monday)

Bank Holiday

5 September (Monday)

Additional DFAT holiday

3 October (Monday)

Additional DFAT holiday

31 October (Monday)

Bank Holiday

26 December (Monday)

St Stephen’s Day 

27 December (Tuesday)

Christmas Day (in lieu) 

About the Embassy

The Australian Government established diplomatic representation in Dublin in 1946 and a full Embassy was established in 1964. 

The Embassy's main priorities are:  

  • To advance Australia's bilateral relationship with Ireland.

  • To promote Australia's economic interests in Ireland.

  • To provide Australians in Ireland with consular and passport services.

  • To promote awareness and public understanding in Ireland of Australia's foreign and trade policy, including through cultural activities.

  • To provide services for Australian Governmental and Parliamentary activities.  


Job Opportunities: